Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Steamboat Springs, CO
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Copying multiple files but want to avoid duplicates

    I have an old music server (about 1 TB) with FLAC files. The company (Olive) is now out of business. I would like to copy all the files which I can access over my LAN to my NAS . However, errors can cause the transfer (copy) to crash or interrupt. Next copy attempt ends up with additional copies.

    Any suggestions for copying files to my NAS without making duplicates? Have tried searching for solutions (Google, etc) without finding good alternative. Inexpensive alternative acceptable, don't need freeware although nice.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,929
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 144 Times in 141 Posts
    I've used TeraCopy, in More mode, Overwrite All, has served me well. Or, you can tell it to skip any file with same name; although for the copying you want - I recommend Overwrite All and More mode.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/
    Backup, backup, backup! -- Lady Fitzgerald (w7forums)
    Clone or Image often! Backup... -- RockE (WSL)

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Steamboat Springs, CO
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Can enter the target file but can't get it to recognize the source folder on another disc

    Quote Originally Posted by RolandJS View Post
    I've used TeraCopy, in More mode, Overwrite All, has served me well. Or, you can tell it to skip any file with same name; although for the copying you want - I recommend Overwrite All and More mode.
    How do I enter the whole source folder which is on a different disc into Teracopy? I can search for and find the target folder on the NAS to copy to.
    The instruction are fairly sketchy.
    Thanks

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,024
    Thanks
    162
    Thanked 188 Times in 181 Posts
    I use Robocopy (as do others on the Lounge). I use the following code to copy files to a backup destination. It won't copy files that haven't changed. The /R and /W parameters will allow retries and waits. See this website for all the parameters.

    Code:
    robocopy E:\source\ \\nas\folder\ /V /TEE /MIR /NP /XJD /R:3 /W:1 /log+:E:\logs\Pictures.txt /XD E:\folders\subfolder
    Options:
    /V - Produce Verbose output, showing skipped files.
    /TEE - Output to console window, as well as the log file.
    /E - Copy Subdirectories, including empty ones.
    /MIR - MIRror a directory tree (equivalent to /E plus /PURGE).
    /XD - eXclude Directories matching given names/paths.
    What do you mean nothing is impossible? I've been doing nothing for years.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Steamboat Springs, CO
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Thanks for suggestions.

    I was able to get to get Teracopy to work perfectly after setting as default copy and rebooting computer. I will look into Robocopy as well. It is great to have this as a resource of ideas, so many out there if you know where to look.
    Thanks.

    Quote Originally Posted by access-mdb View Post
    I use Robocopy (as do others on the Lounge). I use the following code to copy files to a backup destination. It won't copy files that haven't changed. The /R and /W parameters will allow retries and waits. See this website for all the parameters.

    Code:
    robocopy E:\source\ \\nas\folder\ /V /TEE /MIR /NP /XJD /R:3 /W:1 /log+:E:\logs\Pictures.txt /XD E:\folders\subfolder
    Options:
    /V - Produce Verbose output, showing skipped files.
    /TEE - Output to console window, as well as the log file.
    /E - Copy Subdirectories, including empty ones.
    /MIR - MIRror a directory tree (equivalent to /E plus /PURGE).
    /XD - eXclude Directories matching given names/paths.

  6. #6
    Silver Lounger RolandJS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Austin metro area TX USA
    Posts
    1,929
    Thanks
    117
    Thanked 144 Times in 141 Posts
    "Can enter the target file but can't get it to recognize the source folder on another disc"
    I don't know the answer to that; maybe RoboCopy might be better in this case.
    "Take care of thy backups and thy restores shall take care of thee." Ben Franklin revisited.
    http://collegecafe.fr.yuku.com/forum...-Technologies/
    Backup, backup, backup! -- Lady Fitzgerald (w7forums)
    Clone or Image often! Backup... -- RockE (WSL)

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,916
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 1,115 Times in 1,037 Posts
    +1 for Robocopy, especially the Wait and Retry options.

    cheers, Paul

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    717
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 98 Times in 91 Posts
    The RoboCopy suggestion is a good one. I'd make one small alteration though, the suggested /XJD switch only excludes Junction Directories. This is a good idea (to prevent recursive copies) but incomplete.

    There is such a thing as a Junction File as well, and the switch to exclude those is /XJF. However there's a better option yet again. Just use /XJ and you exclude both Junction Files and Junction Directories.

  9. The Following User Says Thank You to BHarder For This Useful Post:

    access-mdb (2016-12-10)

  10. #9
    WS Lounge VIP access-mdb's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Oxfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,024
    Thanks
    162
    Thanked 188 Times in 181 Posts
    Thanks Mr Harder. While I was looking up the parameters (to let the OP know what they meant), I realised my original list had some which were contradictory or redundant, so that helped me clean the list up a bit. There are just so many!
    What do you mean nothing is impossible? I've been doing nothing for years.

  11. #10
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    717
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 98 Times in 91 Posts
    RoboCopy is one of those rare programs with almost too much power, too many options!



    There's another neat switch that I like a lot, it's /XO. This is wonderful when you expect the destination to already have a lot of your data, but you aren't completely sure about the versioning of all your files. /XO will decline to copy an older file from the source location, over a newer file in the destination.

  12. #11
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    861
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
    I’m a sucker for GUI and transparency and being able to see what’s there and what’s going on, complete with filters and options, and I’m willing to pay for it. At the command line, I’m flying blind. I suggest you give GoodSync a try.

  13. #12
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
    Posts
    5,200
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 467 Times in 380 Posts
    Of course, you could just use Windows Explorer and, when it eventually tells you it's found duplicates, you could simply tell it to skip them all.

    Or you could use Windows' own xcopy utility...

    Neither of these entails installing any 3rd-party software.
    Cheers,

    Paul Edstein
    [MS MVP - Word]

  14. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,916
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 1,115 Times in 1,037 Posts
    Neither does using Robocopy - xcopy on steroids.

    cheers, Paul

  15. #14
    Silver Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Forever West
    Posts
    2,149
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 268 Times in 257 Posts
    Something one could try before copying is to use CCleaner's duplicate file finder to clean the source Folder. I usually create a new Folder or subFolder on an External USB drive or a NAS drive to copy the source files to then sort them out later, tends to be a lot quicker than sorting while copying since the copied files are then on the same drive as the destination Folder.

  16. #15
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    861
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 70 Times in 64 Posts
    I suggested you give GoodSync a try. I didn’t say ‘buy’.

    The ‘trial’ appears to be next to nothing until you realize that you can use it to monitor the state of your source and destination files and folders, complete with date and time and the direction you may want transfers to take place. Just perform the scan. Once you have examined it, you can go back to your command line utilities and perform the operations themselves. There is no time limitation on the trial itself, so you can do this as many times as you like.

    You can also tell Microsoft that Windows was a huge mistake and a terrible investment, because doing everything at the command line is so much better.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •