Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 23 of 23
  1. #16
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South of the North Pole
    Posts
    919
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I delete the title and sub-title boxes and import the photo (Insert, Picture, From File).

    Then I just use the features in the drawing and picture toolbars.

    I group and save the image as a jpg. And I can also resize the images for easier e-mail transmission.
    That's what I thought, I won Microsoft Office 2007 in a contest so I'll have to check it out and see if its got something better than Faststone...maybe textured arrows and callout boxes??

    Unless your photos are really huge ( greater than 5 mb each) there really isn't any reason to resize anymore (unless the receipient has a really slow connection or something). One should either upload them to a free photo sharing site or just be sending the links (thumbnails) in the email while the photos are uploaded in the background and can be downloaded at the receipient's leisure.

  2. #17
    Super Moderator jscher2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Silicon Valley, USA
    Posts
    23,112
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 94 Times in 90 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Byron Tarbox View Post
    Unless your photos are really huge ( greater than 5 mb each) there really isn't any reason to resize anymore (unless the receipient has a really slow connection or something). One should either upload them to a free photo sharing site or just be sending the links (thumbnails) in the email while the photos are uploaded in the background and can be downloaded at the receipient's leisure.
    Many companies impose limits on mailbox size. It's annoying to spend 30 minutes deleting and archiving stuff, and then get a bunch of 2MB photos that undo all that work. Sure, we could just enlarge our mailbox size limit, but then the Exchange experts get really nervous about corruption and recovery times... So I agree with sending a link if possible.

  3. #18
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, USA
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    It's apparent that most of the replies focus on GIMP, but I encourage you to look at Paint.NET before deciding. Both are actively developed and have active forums; I just feel the learning curve for Paint is a little less steep. A long-time user of Photoshop (started with version 6), I was more comfortable with Paint at first encounter, Ymmv. I don't know about the "arrows" feature you need - I never had a client that wanted what I think you mean.

    Good luck!

    Ron Moore

  4. #19
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    20
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NealNYC View Post
    Now there is a problem with missing or corrupted python libraries, whatever those are.

    To make matters worse, Corel now wants me to pay for tech support for a product I continue to upgrade.
    This problem in Paint Shop Pro is usually solved by deleting the registry settings for that version of PSP, which then rebuilds its registry on the next restart. This Corel Knowledgebase article gives a step by step method for PSP 8 and 9. Post back if you have a different version... the procedure is the same, but the utility to download may be different.

    Rather than contact Corel support, which has been outsourced and cost cut to the point of near uselessness, try one of these user forums...
    1. The best is the Corel NNTP newsgroups. You'll find clickable links to all of them about half way down this page.
    2. The Paint Shop Pro User Group forums.
    3. Corel's PSP web forum..

  5. #20
    Super Moderator WebGenii's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    4,066
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tim Morrison View Post
    Rather than contact Corel support, which has been outsourced and cost cut to the point of near uselessness,
    It always grieves me when companies do this sort of thing.
    [b]Catharine Richardson (WebGenii)
    WebGenii Home Page
    Moderator: Spreadsheets, Other MS Apps, Presentation Apps, Visual Basic for Apps, Windows Mobile

  6. #21
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Yorkshire
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I had a similar problem with Paint Shop Pro X. I simply uninstalled and reinstalled it. It took a while to download all the updates but it works OK now. However, like many other posters on this thread I now use Paint.Net, Picassa and The GIMP.

    My main complaint with The Gimp and PSP is then length of time it takes to load up. That could be down to this old nail I'm using though

    Picassa is simplicity itself, and both Picassa and Paint.Net are quick enough to load for quick edits.

    Yorkshire men are renown for being tight with money (brass), so the big bonus for The Gimp, Paint.net and Picassa is they cost either nothing or a small donation

    Regards

    Dave

  7. #22
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    ****FIX****
    i realize it has been a while since the original poster asked this question, but i am posting this fix that i found by messing around in the registry for anyone who may go searching and not find any answers like myself


    With Paint shop pro there is an issue when the files are copied over from their previous media to a different directory. If you are getting the error message "python libraries are missing or corrupt..." you can fix it by manually changing the reference location in the registry:

    WARNING!!!! BACK UP THE REGISTRY BEFORE EDITING ANYTHING !!!!!!

    now that that is out of the way...

    navigate to start->run or in windows vista/7 click your circle start button and type "regedit" into the field and press enter

    expand the keys to the following location

    +HKEY_CURRENT_USER
    +Software
    +Jasc
    +Paint Shop Pro #
    +File Locations
    +Python Libraries


    click on the "0" folder and find the key labled DIR and open it
    erase whatever is in the field and replace it with the CORRECT location of your python libraries IE: "C:\Program Files\Paintshop Pro 8\Python Libraries"
    (without the quotes) now close out of regedit and locate your .exe and try loading it again..

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to blackice For This Useful Post:

    werewolf (2016-08-08)

  9. #23
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Blackice - It seems that you only made this one post on here over four years ago but I signed on especially to thank you for it!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •