Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    321
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts

    Disaster Updating Poweredge Bios

    I was updating the bios on an old Poweredge 1950 this evening, and it did not go well.
    The new bios file installed just fine from the OS, then requested a reboot.
    Just as it was posting there was a power blip for a split second, and guess what? Now it wont post.
    it just repeatedly starts and after 15-20 seconds of no post (blank screen), it shuts down again and then repeats.

    Anyone got any ideas? Unlike HP's, there is no backup bios image I guess, for it to fall back on. Bummer.

    Thanks for any help,
    rstew
    Last edited by rstew; 2017-05-10 at 22:05.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    7,467
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked 984 Times in 936 Posts
    Been having a look around for how to reset the CMOS for that model and came across http://blog.loftninjas.org/2007/11/1...eredge-blades/ - don't know if it will work for you with the machine in its current state.

    There's also this article - https://www.dell.com/support/article...system?lang=EN

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Sudo For This Useful Post:

    rstew (2017-05-11)

  4. #3
    2 Star Lounger Bender's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC USA
    Posts
    130
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 17 Times in 16 Posts
    In addition to Sudo's suggestions, there may be some reset pins on the motherboard. It's a matter of setting a jumper. You would have to look into getting the specific info for your motherboard and the correct power up procedure.
    Do your part!!! Report SPAM to http://www.spamcop.net/

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Bender For This Useful Post:

    rstew (2017-05-11)

  6. #4
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    321
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
    Sudo and Bender; thanks for the info.

    I followed the instructions to clear the NVRAM, no change, and then the CMOS by removing the backup battery.
    No joy, still no post and no bios. Just a blank screen with fans blasting.
    The front indicator is showing "CPU 1 IERR"

    I think at this point I am DIW. Looks like its beyond help.
    No big deal, I will just pick up another one and rebuild it. They are readily available and pretty cheap.

    cheers,
    rstew

  7. #5
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    7,467
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked 984 Times in 936 Posts
    I was looking at this article and while I don't know if it covers your board, but could you do something similar to try and recover the CMOS ?

    https://downloadmirror.intel.com/263...01.01.0019.txt

  8. #6
    Gold Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,618
    Thanks
    293
    Thanked 176 Times in 161 Posts
    Stew
    IMHO doing a BIOS flash via an O/S is not a good idea. It adds one more variable to the equation, and that variable is Windows.

    Sudo
    Interesting article, I hope it works for Stew. I note it has instructions for the Management Engine firmware as well.

    Last edited by wavy; 2017-05-12 at 10:12. Reason: Management not maintenance
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  9. #7
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    321
    Thanks
    27
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
    PROBLEM SOLVED!
    Well not exactly solved. I picked up a replacement 1950 real cheap and moved all the useable parts over, and presto-all good.
    Thanks Sudo for that article link. I was lost shortly into it, but that may be helpful to others with a similar problem!

    Cheers,
    rstew

  10. #8
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Durham UK
    Posts
    7,467
    Thanks
    181
    Thanked 984 Times in 936 Posts
    Thanks for the update and that you've got it sorted - likewise getting lost

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •