Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 24
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Question Windows Server 2012 R2 SNMP problem

    Hi all!
    I'm having extremely weird SNMP problem on one of our hosted Windows Server 2012 R2. More precisely it's about SNMP service. Server has SNMP service installed from roles and features and it is working fine locally, but over network it just doesn't work. Server has QlikView products installed which also use SNMP (some, not all products), but I've disabled all QlikView services and still couldn't get SNMP answer over network. Also configured QlikView products to NOT user SNMP. Here are things which I have tested:
    - Windows's SNMP service is OK & running (tested locally with Paessler SNMP tester)
    - Confirmed that port 161 is used for Windows's snmp.exe
    - Port 161 is listening (& ofc open)
    - Firewall traffic allowed for SNMP agent
    - Ping is OK
    - Pretty sure that SNMP packets get through, but server just doesn't answer to them
    - SNMP community OK
    Tried asking help from QlikView forum but it seems to me & them that this is not QlikView related problem. Hence why I'm asking help here. I'm all out of new fresh ideas. All help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,012
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,059 Posts

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Uhh... yeah. I'm trying to solve a problem, its a bit faster when I ask around many places.

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,012
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,059 Posts
    You need to let us know you have asked around, so we don't waste our time finding a solution you already have.

    cheers, paul

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Ok. I'll inform when I get an answer and point to the answer if it is not in here.

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger wavy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    ny
    Posts
    2,614
    Thanks
    292
    Thanked 176 Times in 161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by windowsn00b View Post
    Uhh... yeah. I'm trying to solve a problem, its a bit faster when I ask around many places.
    or ... maybe not/
    David

    Just because you don't know where you are going doesn't mean any road will get you there.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by wavy View Post
    or ... maybe not/
    Apparently not? Bump

  8. #8
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,012
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,059 Posts
    If a local test is OK but a network one is not it implies a firewall restriction.
    Disable the Windows firewall for a short while and test.

    cheers, Paul

  9. #9
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    If a local test is OK but a network one is not it implies a firewall restriction.
    Disable the Windows firewall for a short while and test.

    cheers, Paul
    We have F-secure for firewall, not Windows firewall. Nevertheless, I've tried disabling it with no luck.

  10. #10
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,012
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,059 Posts
    Do you have a weird restriction on your switch / router that filters SNMP?

    cheers, Paul

  11. #11
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    Do you have a weird restriction on your switch / router that filters SNMP?

    cheers, Paul
    Nope. We checked this with our networking guy. He said that he can see that SNMP packages are received on switch just before problematic server (mayby I should've included this in my first post, sorry!)

  12. #12
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,012
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,059 Posts
    You're lucky you have a network guy who can do port sniffing, makes troubleshooting much easier.

    You could try removing / re-installing the SNMP agent - after that it's re-build methinks.

    cheers, Paul

  13. #13
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,012
    Thanks
    64
    Thanked 1,138 Times in 1,059 Posts
    You could create a new read only community and test that.

    cheers, Paul

  14. #14
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    You're lucky you have a network guy who can do port sniffing, makes troubleshooting much easier.

    You could try removing / re-installing the SNMP agent - after that it's re-build methinks.

    cheers, Paul
    Do you mean Windows' SNMP service agent? I've tried that if my memory serves me right.

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    You could create a new read only community and test that.


    cheers, Paul
    This is new to me, yeah I could test this.. actually I'll do it right now.

    edit: No luck. Tried with community public and without any community. Same kind error, no SNMP response.
    Last edited by windowsn00b; 2017-05-24 at 01:16.

  15. #15
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    May 2017
    Posts
    12
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Bump

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •