Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910
Results 136 to 150 of 150
  1. #136
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,903
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 439 Times in 348 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveBRenn View Post
    No unfortunately not, all macrium backups wiped out.

    I have a full EaseUS ToDo backup dated 31/3/2018, and incrementals of that up to 5/5/2018.
    I would try restoring the full backup, see how that goes and let us know. If you can get back to a functioning installation of Windows 10 that will give us a better starting place.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  2. #137
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    660
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Will do.
    Thanks

  3. #138
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    660
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Hi bbearren, have managed to restore to Windows 10 with the EaseUS Backup.

    I have also installed a new 1TB hard see attachment.
    I see my Local Disk (C is showing as removable in "Safely Remove Hardware" in system tray.
    Thanks.

    Update 1803 27.png

  4. #139
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,903
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 439 Times in 348 Posts
    Good news! I wouldn't worry about the "Safely Remove Hardware" showing for C: drive. The next step is to go to All Settings > Update & Security and check for Windows updates. Your installation needs to be fully updated before attempting the upgrade to 1803.

    After you confirm that Windows is fully up to date, make a fresh drive image; if you have to fall back and regroup, that much will be out of the way (it's in my signature line!)
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  5. #140
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    660
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Windows update shows "Feature update to Windows 10, Version 1803."
    Status initializing and preparing to download.
    Leave it to run and see?

  6. #141
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,903
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 439 Times in 348 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveBRenn View Post
    Windows update shows "Feature update to Windows 10, Version 1803."
    Status initializing and preparing to download.
    Leave it to run and see?
    By all means! Hopefully, this will get it all in one fell swoop.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  7. #142
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    660
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    No luck again, I was also very hopeful.

    It got to stage "Working on Updates".
    Gets to 51% then back to 45%, then to 54%, then quickly to 75%.
    Restart and then blue screen.
    Your PCran into a problem and needs to restart.
    We'll restart for you.
    Restoring your previous version of Windows. Failed.
    Back to Your PC ran into a problem and needs to restart.
    Then next Blue Screen:-
    RECOVERY.
    Your PC couldn't start properly. A required device isn't connected or can't be accessed.
    Error Code 0xc000000e.
    You'll need to use recovery tools. If you don't have any installation media (like a Disc or USB device) contact your
    PC administrator.
    Press Enter.
    Press F8 for startup settings.
    List of settings:-
    1.Enable debugging.
    2.Enable boot logging.
    3.Enable low-resolution video.
    4.Enable Safe mode.
    5.Enable safe mode with networking.
    6.Enable safe mode with commans prompt.
    7.Disable driver signature enforcement.
    8.Disable early launch anti malware protection.
    9.Disable automatic restart after failure.

    Eventually used Macrium Backup to get back up and running. Did this backup earlier today.
    Thanks

  8. #143
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,903
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 439 Times in 348 Posts
    Get back into DISKPART by booting from the installation media. Insert your USB stick and reboot, then using F7 select the USB stick from the boot menu. Go through the familiar procedure to get into the Command Prompt then get into DISKPART. After you get the DISKPART Prompt, type

    list vol

    and hit Enter. Note the volume number for the volume labeled System Reserved. You need to assign a drive letter to that volume. Be certain you have the correct volume number, then Type

    sel vol 1

    and hit Enter (if 1 is the correct volume number). Next type

    assign letter=G:

    Diskpart should say that it has successfully assigned the drive letter.

    Now exit DISKPART back to the Command Prompt. In the Command Prompt, type

    g:

    Then type

    cd boot

    and hit Enter. Your prompt will look like

    G:\Boot>

    Then, run the following commands one at a time, letting each complete.

    bootrec /fixmbr
    bootrec /fixboot
    bcdedit /export c:\bcdbackup
    attrib g:\boot\bcd -h -r -s
    ren g:\boot\bcd bcd.old
    bootrec /rebuildbcd

    Next type

    exit

    and hit Enter. Then boot into Windows.

    Let us know how that goes.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  9. #144
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    660
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Just a quick question before I start. You say then boot into Windows, is this just using the Continue.
    This has not worked with me, I always have to use a Backup image.

  10. #145
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,903
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 439 Times in 348 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DaveBRenn View Post
    Just a quick question before I start. You say then boot into Windows, is this just using the Continue.
    This has not worked with me, I always have to use a Backup image.
    Yes, it is using Continue, and it is supposed to work. If it doesn't work, there's a next step to try.

    We have to go step by step to eliminate problems/issues.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  11. #146
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    660
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Thanks.

  12. #147
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    660
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    In DISKPART, typed list vol, got the following:-
    Volume 0 F DVD ROM
    Volume 1 C System Reserve
    Volume 2 E
    Volume 3 D ESD-USB FAT32 Removable

    Attachment of Disk Management. P is my backup ext. drive.

    Update 1803 28.png

  13. #148
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,903
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 439 Times in 348 Posts
    Were you booted into the installation media?
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  14. #149
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    South Africa
    Posts
    660
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Yes I was. Went into F2 Boot Options.

    Had to use Macrium to get going again.
    Last edited by DaveBRenn; 2018-05-25 at 15:58.

  15. #150
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    3,903
    Thanks
    29
    Thanked 439 Times in 348 Posts
    I'm not familiar with Macrium, but I assume that you are creating an image of the entire disk, all partitions. Is that correct?

    Also, can you create images of your individual partitions with Macrium? I have a workaround in mind.

    (Also, when you boot into your installation media for repair options, you shouldn't have anything else plugged in, like an external drive)
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

Page 10 of 10 FirstFirst ... 8910

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •