Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 33
  1. #16
    5 Star Lounger RockE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    677
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 128 Times in 116 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    I'm assuming you can connect to powweb via your browser to do the admin/password change.
    Quote Originally Posted by IreneLinda View Post
    Yes, I can connect to PowWeb via browser.
    While connected to Powweb via your browser, have you ever tried to use the browser for FTP?
    It works like Windows (allowing you to copy-and-paste from your hard drive to your web server). I prefer to use FileZilla but you can use the browser almost as easily (once you get used to it).
    Clone or Image often! Backup, backup, backup, backup...
    - - - - -
    Home Built System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit, AMD Athlon II X3 435 CPU, 16GB DDR3 RAM, ASUSTeK M4A89GTD-PRO/USB3 (AM3) motherboard, 512GB SanDisk SSD, 3 TB WD HDD, 1024MB ATI AMD RADEON HD 6450 video, ASUS VE278 (1920x1080) display, ATAPI iHAS224 Optical Drive, integrated Realtek High Definition Audio

  2. #17
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,054
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 1,144 Times in 1,065 Posts
    Are you using the same user name and password for FTP access as the browser access?

    Can you create a new account to use to test FTP access?
    http://www.powweb.com/help/article/f...tp-user-logins

    cheers, Paul

  3. #18
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,395
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    RockE: not sure how to do what you suggest. I think I have tried that, but not totally sure. On ftp section of my control panel in PowWeb, it tells me to use ftp.mygoforthegreen.com to log into an ftp client. I checked my ftp log in user name by clicking a Verify button and got this message: Success logging into ftp.powweb.com with credentials supplied.

    Given this, I can't understand why I keep getting "login incorrect" whenever I try to access the server.

    PowWeb is of no help: they just keep telling me they've fixed it and closing my support tickets. Everything works fine at their end, but I definitely cannot access their serve from here.

    Paul: I think one of Pow Web's support tickets had me try a new site, but that did not work either. I will check your link, however, to see if it suggests something other than what they had me try.

    UPDATE: Set up new user. Will now try it on FileZilla, correct?

    Thanks to you both for your suggestions!

    Linda
    Last edited by IreneLinda; 2018-05-15 at 09:31. Reason: Update and question/confirmation

  4. #19
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,395
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

    Question Results of New FTP User

    Okay, set up and verified new ftp user (see screenshot). Tried to connect via FileZilla, but got the same result: 530 Login incorrect. Error: Critical error: Could not connect to server

    You have helped me try so many options and I really do appreciate it. Sure is a puzzle. Does any of this suggest another thing we could try?

    New FTP User Set Up.JPG

    Linda

  5. #20
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    725
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 99 Times in 92 Posts
    I used FileZilla for several years and found it to be pretty good. A bit finicky at times because it supports so many options, but overall a fine piece of software. FileZilla updates come out frequently but I found the updating process to be simple and reliable.

    Having said that, I would trust the FileZilla (FZ) error messages. There are 2 parts to this:

    1). "Login incorrect". FZ passwords are case sensitive; are you sure you are typing in the passwords with the correct case? Sometimes the simplest things are what trip you up;
    2). "Cannot connect to server". This suggests that something other than the account/password may be the problem. In this case you are typically looking for a firewall blocking access, a port being blocked, something like that.

    Now, I'm not overly fond of explanation #2. As I recall, when I was using FZ and firewalls stopped me, I never even got to the password prompt. In other words FZ first connects to the server, and only if that is successful do you get a password prompt. IIRC!

    In regards to PowWeb support, here's something you might try. Give them remote access to your computer, through RDC, or TeamViewer or some such tool. Normally this is a red flag for fraud and bad actors but in this case it is justified. Then get them to log in to the FTP site, using your FZ software, credentials, and everything. They are taking the easy way out by saying "it must be you". Yeah, well, OK, even if true, a customer has a problem, they don't get to just bail out on supporting you by using this lame excuse!

    They can even back off one level from this. If they remote to your computer, use your FZ software, but log in using an account of theirs, then the problem is with your account. And that's actionable.

    Regardless, a remote support session will be very instructive as to what's going on here.

    HTH.

  6. #21
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,395
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Thanks for your detailed analysis and suggestion.

    Re. password, I only wish it could be that, but I am very careful to enter as is, no capitals.

    I understand remote access could be a help. PowWeb has been so unco-operative, however, that I hesitate to use them. Furthermore, they are offshore in India, adding nervousness to the equation. Not even sure they will do remote access. They just tell me to chat and, if I do, go back to password and various other suggestions, all of which I have tried before.

    Right now, my thinking is to get rid of them (after over 15 years with them!) and find another supplier. Research has shown that they have been bought out, and their service has suffered.

    I really appreciate your insights and suggestions. Do you see any other approach we could try?

    Linda

    P.S. Fort McMurray? My godparents were in Edmonton and Alberta is a favourite province!

  7. #22
    Administrator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    3,530
    Thanks
    154
    Thanked 977 Times in 778 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by IreneLinda
    I understand remote access could be a help. PowWeb has been so unco-operative, however, that I hesitate to use them. Furthermore, they are offshore in India, adding nervousness to the equation. Not even sure they will do remote access. They just tell me to chat and, if I do, go back to password and various other suggestions, all of which I have tried before.

    Right now, my thinking is to get rid of them (after over 15 years with them!) and find another supplier. Research has shown that they have been bought out, and their service has suffered.
    IMO, time to ask for (or demand) escalation from PowWeb's successive support tiers that WILL do remote access to look over your shoulder whilst you demonstrate the problem with THEIR service.
    Last edited by Rick Corbett; 2018-05-16 at 14:31.

  8. #23
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,395
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Rick, thank you for your suggestion and I do understand why you would tell me to insist on such support. At this point and after over 2 weeks "working" with them, however, I have totally lost all confidence in PowWeb's ability to solve this. I have requested escalation at least 3 times and am responded to with "it works fine here; chat with us"...and back around again. Their disinterest and incompetence is staggering.

    My hope for a solution lies here, with the Lounge, where there is both interest and competence.

    Linda

  9. #24
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    725
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 99 Times in 92 Posts
    OK, I closely read the entire thread, including your connection attempts. Your posts #1 and #15 both show, you are successfully making initial contact with that FTP server. You aren't authenticating properly, but the server is there and it is talking to you.

    For example in post #1:

    Here is the SFTP attempt error message:
    Status: Connecting to ftp.powweb.com:2222...
    Response: fzSftp started, protocol_version=8
    Command: open "tworg@ftp.powweb.com" 2222
    Command: Trust new Hostkey: Once
    Command: Pass: *****************
    Error: Authentication failed.
    Error: Critical error: Could not connect to server

    And here is the ftp message:
    Status: Resolving address of ftp.powweb.com
    Status: Connecting to 65.254.250.100:21...
    Status: Connection established, waiting for welcome message...
    Response: 220 powweb FTP Server Ready
    Command: USER irenelinda
    Response: 331 Password required for irenelinda
    Command: PASS *****************
    Response: 530 Login incorrect.
    Error: Critical error: Could not connect to server
    Note my bolding of the critical messages from the server. The server is there and it is talking to you. The only thing going wrong is the authentication portion.

    Next, from post #15:

    C:\Users\Linda> ftp
    ftp> open ftp.powweb.com
    Connected to ftp.powweb.com.
    220 powweb FTP Server Ready
    User (ftp.powweb.com: (none)): irenelinda
    331 Password required for user irenelinda
    Password:
    Login incorrect.
    Login failed.
    Again, the server is talking to you, and talking normally for an FTP server. The problem is either the password, the account, or both. The account could be locked from too many unsuccessful login attempts, but you say that you've worked with PowWeb on accounts, so...

    Here's what I cannot explain.

    1). You've tried using ftptest.net, and it returned a message of "Error: Line feed received without preceding carriage return...". OK, I'm not familiar with this particular service, nor exactly this message. Frankly, it sounds like an ancient conflict between the way Unix computers and Windows computers end lines! The short version of this conflict is that Unix computers end a line with a Line Feed, and Windows computers end a line with 2 characters, a Carriage Return and then a Line Feed. However I would not expect this problem to crop up in an FTP session;

    2). The command line FTP session you were using in post #15 (and earlier). Command line FTP sessions are simple and that can be great for troubleshooting. However this particular FTP client does not support Secure FTP sessions (thus, SFTP)! I'm not entirely sure what this means for what we can derive from the information from your connection attempts; clearly an unsecure FTP server exists at that address. However if the unsecure FTP server isn't set up with accounts, then maybe it rejecting your login requests is normal, correct behavior?

    I've never administered an FTP server so I'm not sure what capabilities and restrictions exist on them (and there are many, many variations on FTP servers). However if some policy or service said something like, "There Shall Be No Unsecured Data Transfers!", then it would make some sense to not set up accounts on an unsecured connection. However it would also make sense to not have any unsecured FTP server at all then.

    Since the same address seems to provide both secured and unsecured connections, the simplest explanation is the most likely. It's one server, with one set of hosting FTP software. That server FTP software can host both secure and unsecure connections and that's what we see here.

    However that suggests that both the secure and unsecure connections would be able to see and use the same accounts. Unless there is a server side account setting on user "irenelinda" that says, "Only allow Secure connections for this account". Which could actually be a thing.

  10. #25
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,395
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    BHarder, thank you so much for spending so much time on this issue for me! Your conclusion is the same as mine, which is that the issue is not that the ftp connection doesn't occur, but that authentication doesn't work.

    Interesting what you said about the results of the ftptest.net. Is that something worth reporting to PowWeb, our host? As you could tell from the entries in this thread, they have not been either helpful or co-operative in getting this resolved.

    Do you have anything further we could try? I know you and Rick both suggest remote access. My hesitation is based on losing all trust in them due to their incompetence and attitude toward this issue...and who wants to let an untrusted entity have access to a computer??

    Thanks again for all your effort and time, and for confirming in a knowledgeable way what I suspected!

    Linda
    Last edited by IreneLinda; 2018-05-21 at 11:55.

  11. #26
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    725
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 99 Times in 92 Posts
    When you don't trust PowWeb, that is pretty bad for the customer service situation. You are soon going to have to make a decision about how much value their service holds for you; clearly you are unhappy now.

    I would note that in most remote control sessions, the user can monitor what the Help Desk is doing and can intervene if necessary (RDP/RDC is the exception, so steer clear of that one).

    Some of these operations are very "script driven", with staff having minimal skills and no incentive to divert away from the script. If you can demonstrate the problem to them it might turn on a light bulb somewhere, but there are no guarantees.

    There was a memorable support situation I was involved in, where I knew what they should be looking for, but Help Desk's script didn't take them there. Finally I challenged them with, "What you have done is necessary but not sufficient!" The guy on the line got a little defensive and said something like "what can we do?" And that's when I named the exact thing they hadn't tested. When I told them it finally seemed to click with them. But it took me pushing the right buttons to get us there.

  12. #27
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,395
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Once again, BHardy, thank you for your understanding and support. I love your "necessary but not sufficient" line. Also appreciate the further thoughts on remote access and its pros and cons.

    Am pondering the next step at this end. Certainly, we are going to switch hosts (kind of sad since we've been with PowWeb as long as we've been online...they have changed for the worse during that time unfortunately), but it would be a relief if PowWeb could at least get ftp working so I can upload site improvements sooner rather than later.

    Will post back once I have a plan to report.

    Huge thanks for all your help,

    Linda

  13. #28
    Bronze Lounger
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Naples, Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,395
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Rick and BHarder: I bit the bullet and went with your suggestion about remote diagnostics. Spent over half an hour last night on chat, trying to get the person I was chatting with to deviate from her script and determine if PowWeb could try remote diagnostics.

    They could not: they don't offer remote diagnostics.

    She assured me she would re-open the ticket they had closed, review all that had been done and fix the issue.

    This morning I opened the resulting message: We with the help of our specialists have resolved the issue yesterday. I have tested the ftp functionality and it is working fine. Could you please disable any firewall/antivirus settings in your local computer and check FTP through the client?

    AGH! They somehow missed - again - my repeated assertions that it worked at their end but not at mine.

    So at this point, PowWeb has to go. I'd hoped to be able to upload to my site before finding a new host, but that won't be possible.

    Does anyone have a suggestion for a new host? Although not ideal, we have to stick with a shared server for cost reasons. One Lounger did suggest (privately) a host he is happy with, but then said they had been bought out by the same company that bought out PowWeb. That makes me hesitant to go with them.

    Found a recent (May 14) CNET article (https://www.cnet.com/news/the-best-w...2017/#comments). It was challenging for me to determine a best choice from all the info. Then, when I thought a couple sounded good, I read the Comments which panned them (InMotion and WebHost Hub).

    You can see why I wanted to stick with PowWeb! Any input much appreciated (though it's a lengthy article!). Or any suggestions about how I go about figuring out an appropriate choice?

    Thanks so much for all you have tried to do to help me through this...and sorry this is so lengthy!

    Linda

  14. #29
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    725
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 99 Times in 92 Posts
    It's just too bad I wasn't able to come up with a suggestion that could get around poor customer support.

    I liked their last idea. "Disable any firewall/antivirus settings..." Yes, let's do that, what could possibly go wrong? Last time I heard someone measure it, it took just minutes for an unprotected computer to be compromised on the internet!

    Here's a more productive idea. Take 2 cans and run a strong between them. You keep one of them and place the other where your FTP server is located...

  15. #30
    5 Star Lounger RockE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Paducah, Kentucky
    Posts
    677
    Thanks
    67
    Thanked 128 Times in 116 Posts
    If you want to avoid hosts which are part of Endurance Group, you'll want to see the list here of associated hosts.
    Clone or Image often! Backup, backup, backup, backup...
    - - - - -
    Home Built System: Windows 10 Home 64-bit, AMD Athlon II X3 435 CPU, 16GB DDR3 RAM, ASUSTeK M4A89GTD-PRO/USB3 (AM3) motherboard, 512GB SanDisk SSD, 3 TB WD HDD, 1024MB ATI AMD RADEON HD 6450 video, ASUS VE278 (1920x1080) display, ATAPI iHAS224 Optical Drive, integrated Realtek High Definition Audio

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •