Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 28
  1. #1
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Richmond, VA, USA
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Excel Plots Not Printing to PDF Correctly

    I save some of my Excel sheets as PDF's. Sometimes the bottom part of my graphs do not print to PDF correctly; the bottom part of the plot is missing. What’s causing that and how can I fix it?


    W10, Microsoft Office 2016, Adobe Pro DC.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Newcazzle, UK
    Posts
    3,314
    Thanks
    164
    Thanked 624 Times in 593 Posts
    Hi

    Have you checked the Page size for the printer?

    zeddy

  3. #3
    WS Lounge VIP Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    1,265
    Thanks
    289
    Thanked 194 Times in 168 Posts
    In addition, check the "Print Area" setting in your sheets to make sure it covers all you need.

    If a graph needs a 2nd page to print, check your print settings to make sure you haven't set it to print only one page.

    I don't know if a large blank footer on the sheet would cause this, worth a look if you're still stuck. Also, check your page margins, try reducing them.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6; Win10 Home x64 1803; Office 365 x32
    i7-7700; GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400; 2 x 256G SSD, 4TB HD

  4. #4
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,941
    Thanks
    521
    Thanked 468 Times in 437 Posts
    If neither of the above works, then reduce the % of the printout -- in print properties, go to 95%, then 90%, then 85%, then 80%, etc. Keep going down till you get a print that includes the entire space that you want to print.

    Make sure you have portrait vs landscape selected correctly.

  5. #5
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Richmond, VA, USA
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Page size:
    It looks fine, but I'm not sure what to look for. I can print the entire workbook, which is about 50 pages, and only pages with graphs sometimes don’t print correctly, with one or two on a sheet having the bottom part missing. But, there’s lots of room left on the page, both in the resulting PDF and on display.

    In one case, there are 11 pages on an individual sheet in this workbook. There are 7 graphs on this particular sheet out of the 11 pages and the last 2 pages have charts that are missing a piece at the bottom. The top 5 charts print/display as expected.

    Print area:
    I don’t use that here, so that field is blank.

    Reduce print size:
    I do that now. I have it set to fit everything on the page. At the size I’ve selected, there’s plenty of room left on the page to more than handle the bit being cut off.

  6. #6
    Gold Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    2,992
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 780 Times in 710 Posts
    Try changing the print scaling to "Fit All Rows on One Page" or use the snippet below to change it programmatically. For some reason, maybe a bug, setting both the width and the height to fit can sometimes cause issues. Changing just the height seems to correct this

    HTH,
    Maud

    Code:
        Application.PrintCommunication = False
            .FitToPagesWide = False
            .FitToPagesTall = 1
        Application.PrintCommunication = True

  7. #7
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,941
    Thanks
    521
    Thanked 468 Times in 437 Posts
    Here's something else to try: After saving your Excel spreadsheet to PDF format, print that PDF document to PDF. This will cause Adobe to regenerate/recreate the entire PDF document into PDF format, correcting any errors in the process. If you can see everything on the screen when looking at the original saved PDF document, then all of the data should make it into the new PDF. After doing that, print the new PDF that Adobe just generated.
    Last edited by mrjimphelps; 2018-05-18 at 10:21.

  8. #8
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Richmond, VA, USA
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Ah, I finally found a place where that option exists. I couldn’t locate it on the Page Setup. The problem is that doing what you suggest compresses the whole sheet from 11 pages to 3 or 4 and it’s all so tiny you can’t ready anything. If I reset the size to 100%, it still truncates the bottom of the same charts. So, the source of the problem does not seem to be related to setting both height and width.
    Last edited by WSC3; 2018-05-18 at 11:23.

  9. #9
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,941
    Thanks
    521
    Thanked 468 Times in 437 Posts
    If you reduce it down to a tiny size so as to include all of the data, and you then save it to PDF, you should be able to then zoom in on the data when you look at the PDF file.

  10. #10
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Richmond, VA, USA
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I can’t exactly explain what it looks like, but all the formatting is goofed up. I can expand the page so that it’s readable, but the test sheet did not render at all correctly with this option. Headers, graphs, lines, and more are all crammed or unreadable. It's horrible.

    Am I to infer that this issue is a known bug in Excel 2016 or something odd to my install?

    Thanks.

  11. #11
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    10,012
    Thanks
    428
    Thanked 1,608 Times in 1,458 Posts
    WSC3,

    Any chance you could post the workbook?
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  12. #12
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Richmond, VA, USA
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    RetiredGreek: Sadly no. It confidential financials...

  13. #13
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Richmond, VA, USA
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    I don't think i mentioned this, but if I change the printer from PDF (file) to my Canon (an actual printer), the charts display perfectly.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    10,012
    Thanks
    428
    Thanked 1,608 Times in 1,458 Posts
    WSC3,

    Have you tried using another PDF creation program? My favorite is PrimoPDF. Once installed you can select it as a printer. I've never had a problem with it.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  15. #15
    Gold Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    2,992
    Thanks
    157
    Thanked 780 Times in 710 Posts
    Similar to RG's suggestion, I use Bullzip PDF printer (free). Works flawlessly
    www.bullzip.com

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •