Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 28 of 28
  1. #16
    WS Lounge VIP Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    1,215
    Thanks
    277
    Thanked 191 Times in 165 Posts
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6; Win10 Home x64 1803; Office 365 x32
    i7-7700; GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400; 2 x 256G SSD, 4TB HD

  2. #17
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Richmond, VA, USA
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Will either of these interfere with Adobe Pro? I paid like $300 for it.

    Thanks!

  3. #18
    Gold Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    2,988
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 779 Times in 709 Posts
    No, in any program when you navigate to the print screen (File > Print), you select the PDF printer the click print. The result is that the file is saved as a pdf. I have not come acrross any program that Bullzip does not work with since it interfaces with the operating system and not the application. RG's choice works the same way

    HTH,
    Maud

  4. #19
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Richmond, VA, USA
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Hey Lugh,

    Interesting articles, but I'm creating a file from multiple sheets in a workbook. On several of the sheets are graphs that are not converting completely to the PDF but are instead cutting off at the bottom. It's actually pretty common in the workbook PDF.

    Thanks.

  5. #20
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Richmond, VA, USA
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    Maudibe:

    So there would be multiple PDF printers that would appear in the drop down, one for Adobe Acrobat and another for one of these other third party PDF creators?

  6. #21
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    9,977
    Thanks
    424
    Thanked 1,600 Times in 1,450 Posts
    WSC3,

    That is correct.
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  7. #22
    Gold Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    2,988
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 779 Times in 709 Posts
    WSC3,

    Here is a screen shot of a PDF printer in the print screen that will show for all applications that have print capabilities.

    Bullzip.png

    Select the printer, when needed, then click print. You will be prompted to navigate to the destination folder. Enter the name then Save. The document will open in a separate window as a PDF and the original untouched.

  8. #23
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,924
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 465 Times in 434 Posts
    As a historical note, this is how computer faxing used to be done (and perhaps still is in some cases). When you installed the fax program, it set up a "printer driver" for the fax. If you wanted to send a fax, you printed to that printer. The fax program would use the Windows print process to generate the fax, and would then send the fax out over your phone line.

    Other than the phone line part, printing to PDF works exactly the same way.

  9. #24
    4 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Richmond, VA, USA
    Posts
    410
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
    See this sad reply from Adobe.

    https://forums.adobe.com/message/10379307#
    Last edited by WSC3; 2018-05-28 at 15:13.

  10. #25
    WS Lounge VIP Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    1,215
    Thanks
    277
    Thanked 191 Times in 165 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WSC3 View Post
    See this sad reply from Adobe.
    I wouldn't take any reply from Adobe as gospel, especially one of their engineers—that chap may be great, or he may be typical of those who have produced "Adobe quality" products over the decades.

    That said, what he says sounds reasonable, and similar to what we've said in earlier posts—in brief, that you'll get what you've formatted for the device you've formatted it for.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6; Win10 Home x64 1803; Office 365 x32
    i7-7700; GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400; 2 x 256G SSD, 4TB HD

  11. #26
    Gold Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    2,988
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 779 Times in 709 Posts
    Didn't care for that engineer's answer. Adobe has been known to be buggy and bloated. All the more reason to try a PDF printer. Nothing to lose.

    Maud

  12. #27
    WS Lounge VIP mrjimphelps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,924
    Thanks
    517
    Thanked 465 Times in 434 Posts
    If everyone but Adobe gets it right, then it's not Microsoft's fault, it's Adobe's fault.

    By the way, did you try BullZip or Primo PDF, to see if they get it right?

    Here's another possible solution. This one is more radical than simply using a different PDF generator, but it might do the job for you. Boot your computer to Linux Live; open your spreadsheet in Libre Office Calc; save the document to PDF. PDF functionality is built in to Linux Mint, and likely other Linux distros as well. Every program has a "Save to PDF" or "export to PDF" option. Even the text editors have this option. I have Linux Mint installed on my computer, along with Libre Office; and I use Calc as my spreadsheet program. Best of all, if you go with Linux and Calc, you can prove conclusively whether or not Microsoft is at fault here, because you won't be using anything from Microsoft if you do it this way.

  13. #28
    Gold Lounger Maudibe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Pa, USA
    Posts
    2,988
    Thanks
    156
    Thanked 779 Times in 709 Posts
    Hi Jim,

    Yes, a bit more laborious but a good back up. However, it will not rule out if it was a Microsoft issue or a $300 Adobe waste of money.

    Maud

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •