Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 46 to 50 of 50
  1. #46
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,911
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 1,115 Times in 1,037 Posts
    20GB free is enough if you keep an eye on it. Have you deleted temporary files etc - try CCleaner?

    cheers, Paul

  2. #47
    WS Lounge VIP Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    1,009
    Thanks
    245
    Thanked 144 Times in 122 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Harris Guilmette View Post
    how do you break up windows system files to get only 100 gb?
    Win10 sys files amount to ~20GB. However, you need much more to cater for the extra space required during major Win10 upgrades—perhaps the same again, ie another 20GB free.

    Quote Originally Posted by Harris
    I still had 12gb in user, under Public and Default.
    Yes, I have 13GB in Users too.

    I assume you don't have any virtual machines or big games on C:, so it's a mystery how you could be using up an extra ~65GB. On C:, do you have:
    Loads of large videos?
    Bucket loads of audio files?
    Wagon loads of images?
    Lots of Restore Points?
    3-4 disk images of C: stored on C:?

    WinDirStat is a neat utility to see where your space is being consumed. Give it a spin, it should clear up the mystery.

    Quote Originally Posted by Harris
    I'm moving to a 256gb ssd shortly, but I have no idea how to set it up.
    Post a new thread about it in the Hardware forum and we'll guide you.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6
    Win10 Home x64 1709; Office 365 x32
    GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400
    2 x 256G SSD, 4TB HD

  3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Lugh For This Useful Post:

    Harris Guilmette (2018-07-12),satrow (2018-07-12)

  4. #48
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    8,911
    Thanks
    63
    Thanked 1,115 Times in 1,037 Posts
    Moving from a small SSD to a larger one can be done using the clone software provided by the manufacturer of the new disk. Once the clone is done you shutdown the machine, swap the new disk for the old disk and re-boot.

    cheers, Paul

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    Harris Guilmette (2018-07-12)

  6. #49
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
    Posts
    797
    Thanks
    17
    Thanked 86 Times in 84 Posts
    My wife runs Windows 10 just fine on a 128 GB SSD with a fair number of programs installed. You can change the default "save" location for Documents, Pictures,Videos and Music to your D: drive safely. Bbarren has a more aggressive strategy, but I haven't needed to go that far.
    Zig

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to Zig For This Useful Post:

    Harris Guilmette (2018-07-12)

  8. #50
    Administrator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    3,276
    Thanks
    150
    Thanked 873 Times in 707 Posts
    Folks... just a suggestion but let's try to keep on-topic or create new threads with different questions?

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •