Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    2,323
    Thanks
    368
    Thanked 268 Times in 220 Posts

    Chrome has a new way to keep Spectre hackers at bay

    Google released the new security feature, called site isolation, to a limited number of Chrome users starting with the Chrome 67 release in May. Now it's "enabled for 99 percent of users on Windows, Mac, Linux and Chrome OS," Chrome team member Charlie Reis said in a blog post on Wednesday.

    The move shows just how complicated Spectre and the related Meltdown attacks are to thwart. Tech companies that make processors, operating systems and browsers all scrambled to block attackers from using the vulnerabilities to snatch sensitive data like passwords or encryption keys.
    Uses more memory
    Google's site isolation feature is a major change to Chrome. It affects a core part of the browser called the renderer, which turns website programming code into actual pixels on your phone or laptop screen. With site isolation, Chrome splits renderers into separate computing processes more often to wall off data better.

    Unfortunately, that means Chrome needs more memory. The increase is about 10 to 13 percent for people with lots of tabs open, Google said in a project document. The good news, though, is that site isolation lets Google relax earlier restrictions on monitoring precise timing of browser actions it had adopted to make Spectre attacks harder.
    https://www.cnet.com/news/google-thw...59341748746160

  2. #2
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,069
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 1,146 Times in 1,067 Posts
    The Google blog.

    To see if the feature is enabled, enter this in a new tab: chrome://flags#enable-site-per-process

    It is disabled in my V67.0.3396.99

    cheers, Paul

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul T For This Useful Post:

    lumpy95 (2018-07-13)

  4. #3
    3 Star Lounger High Sierra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Salisbury, New Brunswick
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paul T View Post
    The Google blog.

    To see if the feature is enabled, enter this in a new tab: chrome://flags#enable-site-per-process

    It is disabled in my V67.0.3396.99

    cheers, Paul
    Try enabling it.
    This is my Chrome version, and it enabled. Version 69.0.3489.0 (Official Build) canary (64-bit)
    George

  5. #4
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    2,323
    Thanks
    368
    Thanked 268 Times in 220 Posts
    This is my Chrome version, and it enabled. Version 69.0.3489.0 (Official Build) canary (64-bit)
    If my reading is correct, that is the BETA build. I am on the same version that Paul referenced.

  6. #5
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,069
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 1,146 Times in 1,067 Posts
    And it is dis/enabled?

    cheers, Paul

  7. #6
    Silver Lounger lumpy95's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Mojave Desert CA
    Posts
    2,323
    Thanks
    368
    Thanked 268 Times in 220 Posts
    Disabled

  8. #7
    3 Star Lounger High Sierra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Salisbury, New Brunswick
    Posts
    324
    Thanks
    57
    Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lumpy95 View Post
    If my reading is correct, that is the BETA build. I am on the same version that Paul referenced.
    Yes, it is BETA.
    George

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •