Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 21 of 21
  1. #16
    3 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Calgary, Canada
    Posts
    328
    Thanks
    28
    Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
    Wow RG; when you accept a challenge you dive in with both feet!
    You certainly had better success with the cloning thing than I did.
    I made certain I selected the Clone option and not the Image option, but I still did not get a "clone" FSR.
    I wonder if because I had previously done an image, maybe MR decided it was smarter than me (?) and did an image again instead of a clone? Who knows.

    I admit I have never restored a drive from an image before, so I really don't know how that is done. Just lucky I guess, so far.
    I have cloned (duplicated) quite a few drives though using WD and Seagate utilities (both based on Acronis), and they have produced true clones with identical directory tree structures.
    And in all cases when I have restarted the machine with the cloned drive, it has worked perfectly, and windows automatically changed the new drive to C: I guess because C: is the windows default boot drive.
    I think I might try wiping and re-formatting the target D: drive, then try a clone again with MR, and see what happens, because from your efforts I see it can be done.
    If that doesn't work I am going to conclude that the free version will not do a true "clone" even though that is one of its selections.
    So many thanks RG for your help and input, the beat goes on!

    Cheers,
    rstew

  2. #17
    WS Lounge VIP
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,069
    Thanks
    65
    Thanked 1,146 Times in 1,067 Posts
    To clone a drive and have it boot (without lots of fiddling) you need to connect it to the same controller cable as the original before you boot - it's a clone so it needs to be seen by the hardware as if it's the original. Restoring an image is much the same, use a disk on the same cable.

    cheers, Paul

  3. #18
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    10,057
    Thanks
    436
    Thanked 1,626 Times in 1,468 Posts
    Hey Y'all,

    Next chapter...

    I got the bright idea to try a Forensic Clone and see if it would boot?
    ForensicClone.PNG

    Don't check your glasses it did take 11+ HOURS!

    However, My Dell Inspiron 530 still would not recognize it as a boot drive.

    So let's try something different...

    I plugged the WD Passport into my Dell 1564 Laptop, hit the F-12 for Boot Options and viola it gave me the option of USB Devices so I selected it and lo and behold it booted. Granted it did go through some machinations on getting devices ready but it booted into the OS Version from the 530. I also had to go into Network & Sharing Center to enable the network adapter on the laptop vs the one from the 530.

    Results:
    BootedonLaptop.PNG

    You can compare the data directory G: with the previous postings. Note the Drives highlighted in yellow are the one's on the Laptops SSD and they have been assigned different letters e.g. C: = H:, D: = I: (It's a dual boot machine running Win 10 Insider & Win 7 HP), G: = F: (the data partition).

    So I did get a Bootable Clone it's just that for some reason the Dell Inspiron 530 wouldn't recognize it as a bootable drive in the Boot Options Screen.

    Next up: Go back and do a regular clone and see if it will boot on the Laptop, Stay Tuned.

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  4. #19
    Super Moderator RetiredGeek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Manning, South Carolina
    Posts
    10,057
    Thanks
    436
    Thanked 1,626 Times in 1,468 Posts
    Ok,

    Took a regular Clone of the Dell Inspiron 530.
    normalclone.PNG

    Yep, 21 Minutes vs 11+ Hours ... but will it boot?

    You bet! Moved the WD passport over to my laptop and it booted right up, well as fast as you would expect from an external hard drive over a USB 2.0 connection, but it did boot!

    HTH
    May the Forces of good computing be with you!

    RG

    PowerShell & VBA Rule!

    My Systems: Desktop Specs
    Laptop Specs

  5. #20
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    4,073
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 482 Times in 381 Posts
    A real case of recovering from a failing hard drive.

    No cloning involved, just drive imaging. And a dual-boot scenario.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

  6. #21
    Super Moderator bbearren's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Polk County, Florida
    Posts
    4,073
    Thanks
    35
    Thanked 482 Times in 381 Posts
    Another real case of swapping out hard drives in a dual boot multi-drive desktop mid-tower.

    I've never used cloning for anything.
    Create a fresh drive image before making system changes, in case you need to start over!

    "The problem is not the problem. The problem is your attitude about the problem. Savvy?"—Captain Jack Sparrow "When you're troubleshooting, start with the simple and proceed to the complex."—M.O. Johns "Experience is what you get when you're looking for something else."—Sir Thomas Robert Deware.
    Unleash Windows

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •