Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Insert Page Numbers issue

    2 x Windows Server 2012 R2 servers in an RDS environment
    Office 2013 published suite.

    We currently have a problem with Word 2013 and Page Number insertions for users...in the fact that they can't insert page numbers!
    On the RDS servers we have (in the publishing section) Command-line parameters set to: Always use the following command-line parameters: /a
    Which means...i think that it's stopping the addon of the process of inserting of page numbers to be allowed to run

    We want to keep this switch with the small compromise of allowing page numbers to be inserted. Has anyone else had this issue...?

  2. #2
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 101 Times in 94 Posts
    I think you need to establish the link here. You are asserting that the /a parameter removes the ability to insert page numbers. Based upon what, exactly?

    I looked up the /a parameter and it isn't supposed to do anything like that.

    Until you make this connection in a definitive way, this is little more than speculation and a potential red herring.

  3. #3
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Thanks for your reply. I am not sure what to do to combat the issue...though. Any suggestions?

  4. #4
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 101 Times in 94 Posts
    Well yeah. Remove the /a parameter, then attempt to add page numbers!

    If you still cannot add page numbers (as I suspect you will find) then the issue is caused by something else.

  5. #5
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    What are the ramifications of removing the /a parameter? Is it a major deal breaker? Do Sys Admins do that out there in companies?

  6. #6
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 101 Times in 94 Posts
    I wasn't able to find proper documentation for the /a parameter. What I was able to gather was that it puts the Standard.DOT template into de-facto Read-Only mode, so no user can change it. At least that seemed to be the gist of it.

    None of this matters though. You need to be doing a test, so removing the /a parameter is something you will be doing for 5 minutes, max. You put it back as soon as your test is complete, regardless of the result.

    The purpose here is to establish that the /a parameter has anything at all to do with the behavior you don't like. It isn't to disrupt your business environment; nor is it to remove the /a parameter. It's a test of a hypothesis. We can't even begin to rationally discuss the /a parameter any further without this information.

  7. #7
    New Lounger
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Hey Bharder...just got into the desk. I can now confirm that when the /a is removed.....the Insert Page Numbers option becomes available again...?

    What are your thoughts?

  8. #8
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 101 Times in 94 Posts
    OK, now things get sticky. We've firmly established that the /a is the cause of this (why or how is still unclear).

    Normally I'd recommend searching for a different parameter, let's pretend it's /b. The idea is, /b still protects the Standard.DOT template, but allows user documents to be edited. Why go this route? It's designed to be the least disruptive possible change to your business environment while still addressing your issue.

    Except... I keep coming up empty with my documentation searches. It's pretty d*mn hard to come up with alternative parameter options when you can't even find out what the parameters are.

    So, let's try Plan B. Can you live without the /a parameter entirely? Do you have any idea why this item might have been implemented?

    Even if you don't know, there's still a way forward. You can consider trying to remove this parameter for some fixed period of time (say a day, or a week). Just see what the business impacts of that are. You'll be able to add page numbers, we know that is the upside. The question is, are there any downsides we don't know about?

  9. #9
    5 Star Lounger
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    739
    Thanks
    73
    Thanked 101 Times in 94 Posts
    New information. A search of Stack Overflow suggests that /a is actually a directive for Word to start without any Add-Ins. This is suggestive that this might be debugging option for Word.

    How disabling Add-Ins prevents you from adding page numbers is... still a mystery to me. But it does hint that the way you are adding page numbers depends on one of those Add-Ins.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Olympia, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,719
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
    /a - start Word without loading add-ins and templates. This switch locks the settings as well, they cannot be read or modified when the parameter is used.

    From https://www.ghacks.net/2007/12/14/mi...up-parameters/

    This includes the Normal template.

    Now running Windows 10 64 Bit OS.
    I am so far behind, I think I am First

    Genealogy....confusing the dead and annoying the living

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •