Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Administrator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    3,883
    Thanks
    172
    Thanked 1,093 Times in 864 Posts

    If you use a different browser then why not stop Edge running automatically?

    In another thread I mentioned the methods that Edge uses in order to boost its speed. These methods continue to consume a small amount of system resources (CPU, network, disk storage, etc.) even if you only ever used Edge once to download another browser.

    If you prefer using an alternative browser then you can reclaim the small amount of system resources that Edge uses by stopping Edge from running automatically in the background from power-on (and pre-loading tabs). It's easy to do using a REG file to amend the Windows registry.

    Skill level: Easy - Time required: Couple of minutes

    1. Copy/Paste the following into Notepad:
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    ; Microsoft Edge - automatic actions - DISABLE
    
    ; Launch Edge at power-on - DISABLE
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\MicrosoftEdge\Main]
    "AllowPrelaunch"=dword:00000000
    
    ; Pre-load Start and New tabs - OFF
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\MicrosoftEdge\TabPreloader]
    "AllowTabPreloading"=dword:00000000
    
    ; Page prediction - OFF
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Classes\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\AppContainer\Storage\microsoft.microsoftedge_8wekyb3d8bbwe\MicrosoftEdge\FlipAhead]
    "FPEnabled"=dword:00000000
    2. Save the Notepad file as something like "Microsoft Edge - automatic actions - DISABLE.reg" (including the quotes, otherwise Notepad will save the file as Microsoft Edge - automatic actions - DISABLE.reg.txt).

    3. Double-click on the newly-created .REG file and accept the User Account Control prompt.

    4. Click on the Yes button to dismiss the Are you sure you want to continue? prompt.

    5. Click on the OK button to dismiss the message which appears.

    6. Restart your PC/laptop twice for the changes to take place. (The reason for this is because on the first restart, Windows reads the amended registry settings but Edge has already started its background processes before sign-in. On the second restart the OS now knows not to start Edge's background processes.)

    If you want to revert back to the default settings then copy/paste the following to Notepad, save as something like "Microsoft Edge - automatic actions - ENABLE (default)" (including quotes) and carry out steps 3-6 above:

    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    ; Microsoft Edge - automatic actions - ENABLE (default)
    
    ; Launch Edge at power-on - ENABLE
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\MicrosoftEdge\Main]
    "AllowPrelaunch"=-
    
    ; Pre-load Start and New tabs - ON
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Policies\Microsoft\MicrosoftEdge\TabPreloader]
    "AllowTabPreloading"=-
    
    ; Page prediction - ON
    [HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\Classes\Local Settings\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\AppContainer\Storage\microsoft.microsoftedge_8wekyb3d8bbwe\MicrosoftEdge\FlipAhead]
    "FPEnabled"=dword:00000001
    EDIT: Note that this does NOT disable Edge... it just stops it running automatically in the background from when your PC/laptop is powered on. If you have an older PC/laptop then this may reduce the time it takes to get to a stable desktop as less work needs to be done in the background. (I'll try to do some comparison tests with older kit and report back.)

    Hope this helps...

  2. The Following User Says Thank You to Rick Corbett For This Useful Post:

    satrow (2019-03-14)

  3. #2
    Administrator jwitalka's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    7,078
    Thanks
    130
    Thanked 872 Times in 779 Posts
    Even if you use a different browser than Edge like I do, its nice having it as a backup in the rare moments my normal browser can't handle a given web page properly. Well worth the minimal amount of system resources it takes up to me.

    Jerry

  4. #3
    Administrator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    3,883
    Thanks
    172
    Thanked 1,093 Times in 864 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jwitalka
    its nice having it as a backup in the rare moments my normal browser can't handle a given web page properly.
    Thank you. I should have made it clearer that Edge is still there for you to use... just not running in the background all the time. I've amended the thread title and post.

  5. #4
    WS Lounge VIP Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    1,614
    Thanks
    369
    Thanked 287 Times in 239 Posts
    "why not stop Edge running automatically?"

    If it ever misbehaves enough to affect my system, then indeed I'll zap it. Meanwhile, it can play in the pool with the other 137 processes currently running.

    I think most tweaking & controlling is for fun or interest these days. Performance-wise, CPUs & GPUs & RAM & buses & SSDs etc are so good these days, and Win10 is so good at managing memory, that there's just no practical need to fine tune.

    With all those processes & 6 apps running, my CPU is alternating between 1-2% & my memory is 33% occupied. In short, I'm golden.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6; Win10 Home x64 1803; Office 365 x32
    i7-7700; GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400; 2 x 256G SSD, 4TB HD

  6. #5
    Administrator Rick Corbett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    South Glos., UK
    Posts
    3,883
    Thanks
    172
    Thanked 1,093 Times in 864 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Lugh View Post
    it can play in the pool with the other 137 processes currently running.
    Is that 1809?

    The clonky old PC I run my VMs on needs all the help it can get so for an 1803 VM I reduce processes as much as possible otherwise it takes forever to load.

    1803-count-processes.png

  7. #6
    WS Lounge VIP Lugh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Indy
    Posts
    1,614
    Thanks
    369
    Thanked 287 Times in 239 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rick Corbett View Post
    Is that 1809?
    1803—specs in sig.
    Lugh.
    ~
    Dell Alienware Aurora R6; Win10 Home x64 1803; Office 365 x32
    i7-7700; GeForce GTX 1060; 16GB DDR4 2400; 2 x 256G SSD, 4TB HD

  8. #7
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Olympia, Washington, USA
    Posts
    12,719
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
    Does Windows update use the default browser or is it using IE or Edge?

    Now running Windows 10 64 Bit OS.
    I am so far behind, I think I am First

    Genealogy....confusing the dead and annoying the living

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •